A Personal Gain

Ever since I’ve started this blog, I’ve found myself more and more interested in topics I’ve been learning in class. For example, I was in my Cognitive Psychology class when our teacher put in a video about creativity and their association with people with developmental disorders such as turrets and autism. Studies have found that there is usually a high level of dopamine in these people and that people with Parkinson’s actually have a low level of dopamine and sometimes, when taking a supplement to boost their dopamine levels they get this drive to write music or paint! It’s an amazing subject matter and I sometimes think to myself (and maybe even write down somewhere) that this would make a great blog entry. I also get extremely excited when I learn something about psycholinguistics and how I can tie in to my French studies.

I didn’t think anything of it when I started this, let alone think that I would gain any major benefit from a blog. But from what I’ve realized, as I write, I’m going into depth about topics just recently learned and in turn, gaining a better understanding, which then makes studying a lot easier. Blogging has given me a freedom to express myself, and write about academic topics and studies in a voice I’m most comfortable in. It’s a nice break from the many research papers I’ve done this semester! Even though I don’t really have a following, for myself at least, I’ll try my best to keep up with this blog and post anything interesting and new that I learn–especially with my upcoming trip to Paris (ll have quite a bit to write about)!

So, for any other bloggers out there, how has blogging impacted you? Have you found yourself more interested to learn and research new topics in order to post a new entry? For those of you who don’t blog, try it out! It can do nothing but benefit you in the long run.

à la prochaine! 

Leave a Reply

